3 Questions to Ask Yourself Before You Buy

My wife showed me an excellent article about the Thrifty Wallet Buddy via Tracy over at Sew Green. You simply print the Wallet Buddy, cut it out and tape it together. Your credit card will fit right into it. This is definitely going into my TrackSuit Tools. If you use the Wallet Buddy properly it causes you to askwad_of_cash.jpg yourself questions that every one of us consumers should be asking before we buy new things and bring them into our home.

If you read my post How to Get Kicked Off of eBay For Free! you know my thoughts on taking free stuff or buying things just because they are cheap. I quote James Madison who said, “Never buy what you do not want, because it is cheap; it will be dear to you.” But the Wallet Buddy helps you with every purchase, cheap or not, causing you to take into consideration the following:

  • Can I borrow one, find one used, or make one instead of buying new?
  • Will it serve more than one purpose?
  • Can I recycle or compost it when I’m done with it? (and many other questions)

One of the questions the little card asks is one our family has asked a lot lately: whether we can “resell it for close to what [we] paid for it”. This is a great thing to consider when you’re buying baby gear.

Now you may say, “This is great for my credit/debit card purchases, but what if I’m a Cash Money Superstar like you TrackSuit?” Well, I though of that for you, being a Cash Money Superstar myself I came up with the cash buddy. I present this with apologies and full credit to the good folks over at NewDream.org (read: “Please don’t sue me!”). Simply print the Cash Buddy, cut it out and wrap it around that big wad of cash or put in front of all the bills in your wallet and Voila! you’ve got automatic cash consumer awareness.

If you’re using the Cash and Wallet Buddies then from now on, when you go to pay for anything, you will have a gentle reminder. It’s like having Jiminy Cricket in your wallet reminding you that just because you have the ability to pay for it, doesn’t always mean you can afford it.

rss.gifSubscribe to the TrackSuit CEO Feed

One response to “3 Questions to Ask Yourself Before You Buy

  1. Pingback: Financial Logs » 3 Questions to Ask Yourself Before You Buy

Leave a Reply

