Training Our Limits (special guest post by Sacred West)

On the road to success, how do you expand your current limits? How do you train for success?

I like what the Tracksuit CEO says about self-sabotage, it’s a lot more useful to think of this as self-limitation.

But expanding your limits takes a gentle touch because when you push anything, there’s going to be an equal and opposite push coming back to you somewhere along the line. I won’t go into why this is (unless you ask me), but I will advise you: don’t take it personally, use it as a natural force.

How to use it as a natural force? Well, it works the same with positive things also: when you pull something up, and give energy to it as an uplift, there’s an equal pull coming your way also, and it can seem like a gift. Let’s tell the story to show how this works.

~~~jogger.jpg

Here’s my own recent story to illustrate how to train for success. I’ve embarked upon a new project just this month, and it’s been a long time brewing. Finally all the preparation and thinking is over, and I’m launched on a new course that I know is absolutely right.

So imagine my utter shock this month to find myself slacking off and blanking out, in the middle of a mission that absolutely inspires me. I started wondering if I was lazy, or too old, or had some secret will to failure – all the things you think when you’re trying to move forward and you stumble.

So I called my business coach in California, in panic. She’s been part of my planning for the last two years. Fortunately, she set me straight.

My mentor reminded me that the course I was embarked on was carefully chosen, that I had authentically laid all the ground for this next push. And it will work, we both know this; the course itself is correct.

I was out of shape, she said. I was taking myself to the next plateau of success, and I was simply out of training for this enlargement in my expectations. I was out of condition for this next level of success.

As the Tracksuit CEO keeps trying to tell us, it’s the inner game that makes the difference in the whole plan. Sure enough, I recognized the wisdom in what my coach was telling me. So how to train?

~~~

I knew I couldn’t just go to my desk and make myself do the right things, perform all the tasks with the serenity of a master. I was a master of the previous level, but I’m just a grasshopper in this one.

I realized I was out of shape physically too: I had no energy, I was tired when I should have been glowing with excitement. The answer was to start running again, which I hadn’t done for two years, what with all the business changes and the excuses we make.

I knew I couldn’t win at the desk, but I knew I COULD win on the street. So the next morning I got up and went for an early morning run. I did what I committed to do, in an area that I knew I could succeed in. And I could easily measure how out of shape I was, and I’ll easily measure my improvement over time.

You see the lesson here? I’m training through a surrogate practice. If I try to expand my limits at my desk directly, I’ll fail, especially if I push too hard at this stage of the process, and I know this. But I can work with these limits on the track, and the deal I’ve made is that this covers the desk too.

And it’s working. When I slipped and spaced out the running, the desk went to hell – noticing this, I picked the running back up, and here came the good energy again at the desk. The running is the way I’m keeping faith with myself, and conquering an area that I simply have too big a hex with to tackle directly.

A lot of this by the way is simply the showing up. If you show up when you said you would, whatever life hands you will be okay, even a failure – after all we don’t create the future, only our response to the present. But you have to show up, even if you sit unable to cope, you have to show up.

For me the running is more about the doing of it than the doing well. But that’s just my configuration. I have doing well hard-wired in, it’s the showing up that could use more training. Your mileage may vary.

Humans are funny. We’re very complex, but at the same time, everything is workable. It’s just a matter of figuring how to work it each time. We can make deals with ourselves, and when we can’t tackle our issues head-on, we can train around our limitations.

By the way, one day I’ll surpass a benchmark at my desk first, and from this I’ll perform better on the track later. It’s a two-way street, and I started with the possible.

This is how you train for success.

yours,
Sacred West

Read more at Sacred West about Success, Buddhism and living and succeeding in modern America.

If you’re interested in writing a guest post please Contact Me.

rss.gifSubscribe to the TrackSuit CEO Feed

5 responses to “Training Our Limits (special guest post by Sacred West)

  1. Beautifully written. Just yesterday I had one of those days where everything seems to spiral out of control. Even though my place of business is my house managing 2 young children, I can definitely relate.

    With my eldest child missing chunks of hair from a self-given haircut and my 2 month old only napping 30 minutes at a time I think I was hallucinating by 4 pm . The 3 year old was screamy at the swimming pool, the baby wanted to nurse all day.

    I too love and feel inspired by this new undertaking but why did I keep attracting chaos? After reading this post about surrogate training it dawned on me. Pilates is my way of keeping faith with myself. And on Wednesday evening I left the house feeling very guilty. I worried that the I hadn’t pumped enough, I worried that tracksuit ceo wouldn’t be able to hack it even though this was the 4th class post baby.

    If my sacred hour away from my darlings is spent worrying then how can I expect to excel when with them? The day’s events might have happened regardless, but had I felt worthy the day before, I certainly would have coped better.

  2. thetracksuitceo

    Keep taking those pilates classes, God knows the TrackSuit family needs you at your best!

  3. I love the idea of expanding limits through outside activities and projects. Focusing on one thing can drain all your energy and leave you feeling defeated.

    Great post.

  4. Pingback: Top Posts « WordPress.com

  5. @ breedersareeaters – thanks for the compliment. My mentor also said that worry is the energy that should be used for creativity, and if we use it to wear ourselves down in life, then it robs our creative work. And raising your family is your path of improvement, where you want to be growing creatively.

    @ Kerstin – yes, it’s really about training where you’re strong rather than where you’re weak I think – in those times that you need to. Even on bad days you can create a rising tide that lifts all the boats.

    Hitting issues head-on can often be asking for trouble, because we contain so much contrariness, far more than we and the self-help courses ever admit.

    The trick is to know when to use which option.

Leave a Reply

